top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMolliana Poliak

Garlic Sriracha Burger, Parmesan Shrimp Couscous, & Broccoli Slaw

Updated: Nov 6, 2020

Thoughts:


Some quarantine days I want to eat 4 bowls of cereal and other days my body is screaming for something hearty and healthy that will fuel me (or detox the junk I ate). Today was one of those days. I didn't stop to eat healthy today and I paid for it. I lived off skittles and protein shakes. Don't judge! You know you've been there. My bestie asked me what I was going to make for dinner to which I had not idea. Seeings how my little ones prefer Ramen noodles over most of my cooking, cooking meals is a special occasion usually reserved for weekends and late nights with the lover. I do make them eat what I cook, just not every day. They need to survive to 18. That's what the law says at least. So what DID I make for dinner tonight? I pulled together this beauty after starring into my abyss of 3 month coronapocalypse food storage. It was sooo good, my 10 year old told me to slow down after my second one. Again, don't judge. This whole isolation thing is getting to me mentally. I'm a mess friends. But still holding it together.



Enough chitty chat Molli! What's the recipe already?


Ingredients:


4 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp minced garlic

bag o shrimp P&DV

1 cup couscous

s&p tt

2 cups water

turkey burgers for each person (beef or veggie work too)

sriracha seasoning (dry rub)

2 cups broccoli slaw (or any veggies you prefer)

1/2 cup Parmesan



How To:


1. Heat 1 tsp oil in a large skillet. While you're waiting for the oil to heath, boil 2 cups of water. Drop the mustard seeds in the hot oil skillet, stir & allow to pop (about 30sec). Throw in the garlic and stir. Shrimp are next. Brown the shrimp on each side.


2. Put the DRY couscous into the skillet and pour the boiling water over the top. Stir & make sure it comes to a full boil if the water cooled at all. Add s&p. Remove couscous/shrimp mix from heat and cover for 5-7 min or until the couscous is al dente & absorbed all the water but still moist.


3. While you wait for the couscous to cook, grab your burgers and dry rub them with the sriracha seasoning & s&p. In another pan, add a TINY BIT or oil just enough to make the pan non sticky & heat the pan up on high heat. (Depending on the meat you chose, it will seep its own fat. Too much oil can make your burgers greasy. Food for thought). Drop your burgers in the hot pan and sear them on each side. Turn the heat down and cover and allow to cook to your desired temp (rare, med rare, med, etc..) Depending on how thick your burgers are, this step only takes a few min)


4. Veggie Time! Grab a small sauce pan. Heat a small amount of oil & garlic. Add your veggies and let them par cook. Don't let them get mushy. S&P to taste. Turn down the heat to low and go check your couscous. Add Parmesan & stir into hot couscous.


That's it! Design on your plate however you desire!


Also, sharing is caring! Send this to your bestie when she asks what you are making tonight.


Let me know how it turns out, if you have any tips to make this better, or just want to share some love!


14 views0 comments
bottom of page